THE SULCITANE ISLANDS OF ST.ANTIOCO AND CARLOFORTE
Travelling along the highway n.126 one reaches the
island of St. Antioco, along an isthmus that
crosses the lagoon of St. Caterina, where it is
possible to see two menhirs, known as 'su para'
and 'sa mongia', the friar anf the nun, and travel
next to an old Roman bridge. This is the largest
island among those surrounding Sardinia and the
fourth in Italy, after Sicily, Sardinia itself,
and Elba. The ancient Sulcis is today an island of
great historical and touristic interest. Here it
is possible to visit the archaeological site of
the Punic necropolis with its Tophet and nearby
'Antiquarium', besides the medioeval church of St.
Antioco and its underground Christian catacombs.
Touring the island one reaches the beach of
Maladroxia and along the western coast, Cala
Lunga; going towards the southern and eastern
coast the visitor arrives at Capo Sperone.
The visit continues in Calasetta, the second town
of the island, a town of wine-producers and
fishermen. This village, originally called Cala di
Seta, was founded in 1769 by a nucleous of
families who originally came from Liguria but
where living in Tabarka, in Tunisia. Up to today,
Calasetta continues to maintain both customs and
the language of the Genoese people. The area
offers beautiful beaches and landscapes
characterised by fascinating indented coasts,
besides a 19th century tower that dominates the
From Calasetta one can take the ferry-boat to
Carloforte, capital of the island of St. Pietro.
This island was also founded by people coming from
Tabarka and therefore keeps Genoese customs and
dialect. The journey around the island includes a
visit to the old centre of Carloforte and the tour
of the island, stopping to see the tunny-fishing
buildings on the islands of La Piana and Li Punti,
the beaches of La Bobbia, Le Colonne, La Caletta,
and finally Cala Vinagra, Cala Fico, Capo Sandalo,
with its beautiful panoramic view of the